NCBJ scientists elected as members of the Astronomy Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences



On 14 May, nominations for members of the Committee on Astronomy of the Polish Academy of Sciences for the term 2024-2027 were announced. Among the members were scientists from the NCBJ's Astrophysics Division. Prof Katarzyna Małek was also elected to the Presidium of the Committee.

The Committee for Astronomy of the Polish Academy of Sciences, which has been active for more than 70 years, aims to undertake activities for the development of astronomy and to utilise its achievements. It also serves as the National Committee for Cooperation with the International Astronomical Union and elects Poland's representative in the international consortium publishing the journal Astronomy & Astrophysics.

On 14 May 2024, nominations for Committee members for the 2024-2027 term were announced. Among the 36 members were three scientists from the NCBJ Astrophysics DIvision: Prof. Marek Biesiada, Prof. Katarzyna Małek, and Prof. Agnieszka Pollo. In addition, Prof. Katarzyna Małek became one of three members of the Committee's Presidium. Prof. Marek Biesiada is also a member of the Physics Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Congratulations to our astrophysicists on their nomination to the Astronomy Committee!