News Date

Birthday cake

This year NCBJ Symposium had somewhat festive character on the occasion of NCBJ 5th anniversary

Our guests included Andrzej Przybycin (President of National Atomic Energy Agency), Adam Kordas (Ministry of Energy), Professor Jacek Michalik (Director of Institute of Nuclear Chemistry & Technology), Professor Andrzej Gałkowski (Director of Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microsynthesis), Professor Paweł Olko (Director of Polish Academy of Sciences Institute of Physics), Professor Tomasz Matulewicz (Warsaw University Institute of Experimental Physics), Dr Paweł Krajewski (Central Laboratory for Radiation Protection). We have received congratulation letters from Jarosław Gowin, Deputy Prime Minister; Director of Polish Academy of Sciences Institute of Nuclear Physics; and from Ministry of Energy.

Dr. Krzysztof Kurek, NCBJ Director General presented a vision of our Institute’s future and handed over honorary mentions for 2015 achievements in three categories: research, technical, organisational. Speeches on some of the distinguished achievements and on some key future projects followed.

Distinguished 2015 achievements:



  • Professor Michał Spaliński and Dr. Michał Heller for the Hydrodynamics Beyond the Gradient Expansion: Resurgence and Resummation paper on hydrodynamics of quark-gluon plasma (PRL 115,072501 115,(115,2015))
  • Dr. Mieczysław Borysiewicz, Eng. Karol Kowal MSc, Dr Sławomir Potempski for the An application of the value tree analysis methodology within the integrated risk informed decision making for the nuclear facilities paper on the CFD and PSA modelling with the use of high-performance computers (Reliability Eng. & System Safety 139 (2015) 113)
  • Dr. Marek Rabiński and a team comprising Dr. Lech Jakubowski, Eng. Karol Malinowski PhD, Professor Marek Sadowski, Dr. Jarosław Żebrowski for the Cherenkov emission provides detailed picture of non-thermal electron dynamics in the presence of magnetic islands paper on Cherenkov emission of electrons escaping tokamaks (studied in FTU Frascati) (Nucl. W Fusion [45] Vol. 55 (2015) 123021 (9pp)).



Dr. Krzysztof Pytel (team leader), Eng. Rafał Prokopowicz PhD, Eng. Mikołaj Tarchalski MSc for research on gamma heating of the MARIA reactor core (a project accomplished jointly with the French CEA and UAM Marseille).



Dr. Sławomir Wronka (team leader), Eng. Wojciech Dziewiecki MSc, MScWojciech Grabowski, Eng. Michał Jarosz MSc, Eng. Konrad Kosiński MSc, Eng. Michał Matusiak MSc, Eng. Marcin Staszczak MSc, Eng. Karol Szymczyk MSc, Dr. Adam Wasilewski, Anita Zugaj for organization of the CAS CERN school on accelerators.  

Tort na piąte urodziny NCBJ — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Jubileuszowe sympozjum prowadzia prof. Ewa Rondio — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Prof.Krzysztof Kurek odczytuje życzenia nadesłane przez ministra Jarosława Gowina z okazji 5-lecia NCBJ — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Prof. dr hab. Michał Spaliński odbiera nagrodę za wyróżniające osiągnięcie naukowe w 2015 r. — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Dr Jarosław Żebrowski odbiera nagrodę za wyróżniające osiągniecie naukowe w 2015 r. — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Dr hab. Sławomir Wronka odbiera nagrodę za wyróżniające osiągnięcie organizacyjne w 2015 r. — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Dr inż. Rafał Prokopowicz odbiera nagrodę za wyróżniające osiągnięcia techniczne — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Prof. dr hab. Michał Spaliński prezentuje nagrodzoną pracę wyróżniające osiągnięcie techniczne w 2015 r. — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Prof. Grzegorz Wrochna i prof. Krzysztof Kurek w trakcie przerwy częstowali przybyłych na sympozjum jubileuszowym tortem — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski
Dyrektorzy NCBJ z Andrzejem Przybycinem, Prezem PAA — fot. NCBJ, Marcin Jakubowski